M1 Mac Mini (8GB RAM) for Frontend Developers

A front-end developer’s notes on the cheapest M1 mac mini (8GB RAM)! Can you rely on it for your daily front-end development tasks?

Mehdi Namvar
4 min readSep 29, 2022
M1 Mac Mini (image from apple.com)

I’m using the M1 mac mini for a year and a half now. I bought the base 8GB RAM and 256GB storage configuration for $699 and I have to admit that I’m surprised by the results. It’s so good that I no longer needed my MacBook Pro 16" 2019 (Core i9/16GB/1TB) and I sold it. I know I shouldn’t compare a MacBook with a mac mini but in my case, it wasn’t needed anymore on my desk.

The M1 mac mini has a small footprint. With 19.7cm × 19.7cm × 3.6cm size, it won’t take up much space on your desk. It only weighs 1.2kg.

You have access to the most used ports: HDMI, Ethernet, two USB ports, two USB-C Thunderbolt ports, and a 3.5mm headphone jack. You can connect one 6K monitor via USB-C and one 4K monitor via HDMI ports.

It’s the cheapest M1 mac that you can buy right now!

Apps That I Use Daily As a Frontend Developer

I’m a front-end developer with more than 7 years of experience with React. I usually work with medium to large projects. These are the daily apps that I use and are usually open while I’m…

--

--